The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA) rolled out another spectacular event on Saturday  when they hosted the sixth annual awards gala in London. Hundreds turned out to celebrate the achievements of this year’s nominees and winners. 

Kazz (Mr Boomslang) during his performance at the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards 2016 in London
Kazz (Mr Boomslang) during his performance at the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards 2016 in London

Held at the five-star Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington, the awards,which ran under the theme Celebrating Women in Media and the Arts honoured five women excelling in the media,music and the arts industry.

Head of Publicity for Columbia Records, Sony Music Entertainment, Taponeswa Mavunga, Forbes’ Magazine contributor Farai Gundan, award winning writer Petina Gappah and actress Chipo Chung were among the women who received the Chairman’s special recognition award for making remarkable, consistent and outstanding contributions to the Zimbabwean community in the UK and abroad.

In her speech, ZAA Chair of the Panelists, Dr Martha Chinouya hailed the work that the ladies were doing and the barriers they have broken in the industries that they are in.

“It is not easy to be a woman,let alone a woman who holds a very high position in fields such as media,music and film, and  we celebrate these women who are breaking the so-called glass ceiling and emerging as powerful and influential women in their various industries,” said Dr Chinouya.

The Chairman’ Honorary Award for contributions to charitable causes and children’s welfare went philanthropist and social entrepreneur Tsitsi Masiyiwa.

ZAA Chairman Conrad Mwanza saluted Masiyiwa’s humanitarian work and how she continues to positvely impact the wider community.

“Mrs Masiyiwa’s work is admirable and truly inspiring. We can all certainly learn something from her, and we can all make a difference and contribute to building a community that we are proud of, and a nation that we have all envisoned,” Mwanza said.

Jeff Madzingo, founder of Diaspora Funeral Cash plan and CEO of NewZimbabwe was honoured for his pivotal role in business and services to the community, while Football legend, Japhet Mparutsa, received the Legend’s Award for services rendered to sport.

Deloitte’s Debbie Thomas received the Friend of Zimbabwe award for her continued support and contribution to initiatives in the Zimbabwean and wider African Community. DJ Edu also received special recognition for his work in pushing and promoting African music.

The entertainment lineup did not disappoint. Gemma Griffiths who headlined the blacktie affair, dazzled the audience with her rendition of Winky D’s Musarova Bigman. Xavier had the audience in stitches with his comedic sketch of Na2lani and Kazz  took the audience back in time with his classic hits Amina Kadeya and 7 Wonders.

The guests were also treated to a surprise special from Gospel star Tembalami who flew in all the way from Zimbabwe to give them a memorable experience.

This years awards were proudly sponsored by Econet groups umbrella of companies, Eco-cash Diaspora ,Chitoro and Steward bank. Reputable Care Agency Local Care Force were also a proud sponsor of the awards.

ZAA CEO, Peter Soko extended his thanks to all the sponsors for their continued support.

“An event of this magnitude is not easy to put together.”

“Alot of work goes on in the background to produce a night like this; but none of it would be possible without the support and partnership of all our sponsors who have believed in this brand and the vision it has to building a stronger and viable community,” Soko said.

Now a permanent fixture on the Zimbabwean community calendar,the awards have grown over the years and in a few weeks the brand will open its doors in the US as plans are in motion to launch there.

Here is the full list of all the winners on the night:

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Company of the year: 

MTM Accountants

Female Entrepreneur:

Nicola Holden

Male Entrepreneur:

Nkosinathi Zvimba

Business Innovation Award:


International Music Artist:

Jah Prayzah

International Gospel Artist:


Community Organisation:


Community Champion:

Linda Satimburwa

Author/ Academic Award:

Professor Ben Chigara

Tourism Award:

Imbabala Zambezi Safari

Fashion Designer:

Rahima Mohamed (RAAAH)

Sports Personality:

Walter Gahadza

Radio Presenter/Club DJ:

Pelagia Mutake

Media Organisation:

Star FM

Event of the Year:

Summer Splash

Personality of the Year:

Kevin Ncube

Peoples Choice:

Ofishal Xavier

Young Achiever:

Nyasha Duri